top of page

these things will pass

my father told me

he didn’t recognize

faggots as people

that animals must pray

to find forgiveness

i wrote my prayers in a notebook

ripped out the pages

allowed the words to scar my intestines

it only made me sick

made me break apart

the towers of my arms

and burn out the prayer

they have all

forgotten god

we allow our hearts to be filled with pistols and brimstone

innocence is a doctrine burned from our bodies

dreaming—a luxury forgotten

the soft persuasion

that understood we had to heal

i pull my journals from my veins

lay them like body bags on the ground

to spread roots in the dirt

my own scripture singed to grass

these are my apparitions

painted doors on their chests

not ready to reveal how desolate

they have become

the ashes of their sins still stuck

in the silos of their broken throats

i watch the stars

remind myself

that papercut wounds are not scars

that these wavering prayers

shall pass

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page