top of page

the worst place i ever slept

chilled air stands still

as the door squeels open

like a pig up for slaughter

the house welcomes me with dust

and the scent of flesh rotting

stabbing my nostrils

there are no bodies

but bags of garbage pile

amidst shit-filled corners

and cats in awe

of seeing a new body

the owner is a baker

she tells me

she makes the best cakes

from her kitchen

blinding yellow walls expose an overfilled sink

dishes soaking in black sludge

turning my stomach

forcing me

to hold back the urge to vomit

she leads me to my room

we walk up shaky steps

moving farther from the door

the walls seal me inside

with her maze of trash and cats

i think of running

but how can i escape

when there is nowhere else

she tells me the house across the street deals meth

and i think of texting my ex

of sending an s.o.s.

i wonder if he’ll answer

the bed sits on top of a hole in the floor

cracks sprawl away from the mattress

like spiderwebs cemented

and when i plop onto the couch

i felt the stench of piss

and musk rise like steam

i close my eyes

breathe in through my nose

stay composed

while planning my escape

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page